AboutServing the parish of Cheadle, Staffordshire, St Giles' is considered to be the finest of all the churches built by the celebrated nineteenth century architect and designer, A.W.N. Pugin. It was financed entirely by John Talbot, sixteenth Earl of Shrewsbury, who lived nearby at Alton Towers.
Begun in 1841 and completed in 1846, St Giles' is of unique importance in the history of the Gothic and Catholic Revival. The church is open to the public every day but please be respectful during service times.
Virtually every inch of the church is decorated. Each of the nave pillars has a different design. The roof of the Chancery is sprinkled with stars, whilst walls and arches are richly ornamented. Over the arches are images of the prophets. The roof is beamed and is of English oak. The floor is laid with Minton tiles. Even the stonework is painted. It also boasts a 200 ft spire
Insert £1 in the slot to light up the church and admire it in all its glory.
St.Giles' Catholic Church
St. Giles' is considered to be the finest of all churches built by the celebrated nineteenth century architect and designer, A.W.N. Pugin and is affectionatley known as 'Pugin's Gem'.
Groups are welcome to come, but it is better to ring in advance
Free to view (donations activate lighting). Ask at Heritage Centre for Audio/mp3 guides.
Map & Directions
From West: Exit M6 Jct 15, A500 towards Stoke, A50 towards Uttoxeter, A521 to Cheadle.
From East: Exit M1Jct 24, A50 towards Uttoxeter, A522 to Cheadle.
First Bus - Service No 32 / 32A Stoke-on-Trent to Uttoxeter via Cheadle. Monday - Saturday regular service every 2 hours during peak hours. Sunday limited service.
Accessible by Public Transport: Uttoxeter station is 9 miles away.
- Disabled access
- Children welcome
- Parking with charge
- Smoking not allowed
- Accepts groups
- Coach parties accepted
* For group bookings please ring for Mass times.
Open to view every day from 8:00 to around 16:00, Saturdays: 8am to 17.00. Please be respectful during service times.
Mass Times: Saturday 17:00 or Sunday 10:30
Entry is through the south porch (to the right of the main doors with the gold lions).