An exciting night awaits for many of Staffordshire’s best tourism and hospitality businesses – the annual Enjoy Staffordshire Tourism & Good Food Awards is back on October 24th

Almost 50 businesses from across the county have been shortlisted, from more than 80 applications, and will find out if they were successful at the glittering black-tie event, which takes place at Aston Marina in Stone.

The 7th annual competition will recognise excellence in tourism and hospitality businesses, such as visitor attractions, accommodation, experiences, restaurants, pubs and tearooms, with awards in 17 categories.

14 of the ‘Gold’ winners will progress to represent Staffordshire at the national VisitEngland Awards for Excellence in 2020.

Hosted by BBC Midlands Today presenter Joanne Malin, the event, which starts at 7:00pm, is expected to attract more than 150 guests.

Mark Winnington, Cabinet Member for Economic Growth at Staffordshire County Council and Deputy Chair of Destination Staffordshire said: “Tourism is an important sector for Staffordshire and our awards give us the opportunity to celebrate with all our providers.

“Our local tourism businesses continue to do a great job, attracting more and more visitors, bringing in around £1.8billion for the local economy each year and sustaining tens of thousands of jobs.

“We are a wonderful county to visit with great locations, attractions and wonderful pubs, restaurants and farm shops that we are very proud of. 

“I’m very much looking forward to the event and would like to wish everyone who has been short listed the best of luck.”

Last year’s winners included Drayton Manor Park, named Large Visitor Attraction of the Year, Swinfen Hall Hotel in Lichfield (Hotel of the Year), The Roebuck in Leek (Pub of the Year) and Dalraddy Cottage in Cannock Chase (Self-catering property of the Year).

Headline and category sponsorship packages for the event are available. Current sponsors include NFU Mutual (Stone Agency), Stoke-on-Trent & Staffordshire Growth Hub, Staffordshire Business & Environment Network (SBEN), and RH Advertising Ltd.

Sponsorship and media enquiries should be directed to Enjoy Staffordshire’s Richard Swancott at or 01785 277986.


Editor Notes

The full list of businesses shortlisted for awards, listed by district, is as follows:

East Staffordshire Borough

  • Denstone Hall Farm Shop & Café
  • Greenacres Barn, Denstone
  • Heywood Hall, Denstone
  • Hilton at St George’s Park, Burton upon Trent
  • Meynell Ingram Arms, Burton upon Trent
  • Nelson’s Distillery & School, Uttoxeter
  • Uttoxeter Racecourse

Lichfield District

  • Amber House, Alrewas
  • Bradbury’s Farm Shop, Lichfield
  • Drayton Manor Park
  • Larder, Lichfield
  • Lichfield Cathedral
  • National Memorial Arboretum
  • Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum, Lichfield
  • Swinfen Hall Hotel, Lichfield
  • The Boat Inn, Lichfield
  • The George Hotel, Lichfield

Newcastle Borough

  • Dorothy Clive Garden, Willoughbridge
  • Keele University Events & Conferencing
  • The Lymestone Vaults, Newcastle

South Staffordshire District

  • Essington Farm, Essington
  • Oakland Holiday Park, Brewood
  • Pillaton Hall Farm Carvan & Campsite, Penkridge

Stafford Borough

  • No 26 at Aston Marina, Stone
  • Canalside Farm, Stafford
  • Cup A Cha, Stafford
  • Perry’s of Eccleshall
  • The Borehole, Stone
  • The Little George, Eccleshall
  • Trentham Monkey Forest
  • Totally Delicious Restaurant, Trentham Shopping Village
  • Totally Delicious Tea Room, Trentham Gardens

Staffordshire Moorlands District

  • Alton Towers Resort
  • Beechenhill Farm, Ilam
  • Peak Wildlife Park, Winkhill
  • Quarry Walk Park, Freehay, Cheadle
  • Ramblers Retreat, Alton
  • The Cottage Kitchen Country Café, Leek
  • The Farmhouse at Gradbach Mill, Quarnford
  • The Stafford Arms, Bagnall
  • The Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa, Leek

Stoke-on-Trent City

  • Best Western PLUS Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel
  • Emma Bridgewater Factory
  • Gladstone Pottery Museum
  • Middleport Pottery
  • Waterworld

Tamworth Borough

  • SnowDome