Leek Tourist Information Centre
In fond memory of the place where they first met in 1863, Mr and Mrs Kipling named their famous son, born in 1865, after this village.
With steeply wooded banks there is a two and a half mile lake with a visitor centre with facilities for picnicking, walking, fishing, sailing and cycling.
On summer weekends and Bank Holidays, visitors can enjoy a three-mile return trip alongside the lake on-board the vintage locomotives of the Rudyard Lake Steam Railway. The west shore of the lake is also a section of the Staffordshire way.