Eatta's well, which gave the South Derbyshire village Etwall its name, is almost certainly the well that still survives near the parish church in the village centre. St Helen, to whom the church is dedicated, is associated with Holy Wells elsewhere in the country. It could be that the church dedication was transferred from the well. There are over 60 wells in the village, and Well Dressing is now the biggest public event in the village calendar, occupying three days in mid-May.
Etwall Hall, home of the Port family in the 16th century and remodelled in the early 18th century, was sadly demolished in 1955. Its site is now occupied by John Port School. Although the Ports and their house are long gone, the family left an enduring legacy to the village in the form of the "Etwall Hospital" which was originally an almshouse for six people. The almshouse was originally built in the 1550s in accordance with the will of Sir John Port (d1557). The almshouse charity prospered and in 1681 the present almshouses were built on the old site for 12 people. A further block of four cottages was added around 1714, in the same style as the others.